Sunday Suppers

17 Apr

TO EAT: Kirk and I love Bahn Mi. There’s this place in the Tenderloin we used to go when we lived in the city called Saigon Sandwiches who have the best Bahn Mi known to man. The ones we make at home are almost (but not quite) as good. Bahn Mi, for those of you who don’t know, are Vietnamese Sandwiches – they usually consist of Pork or Chicken Meatballs, a carrot and daikon slaw, a spicy mayo, cilantro and jalepeno peppers.

We use Bon Appetit’s recipe for Pork Bahn Mis, and it always does the trick to satisfy our Bahn Mi cravings. The key (as always) is good bread. Kirk and I usually like to pick up a couple of torpedo rolls from Acme Bread down the street, but any high quality crusty sandwich roll would do it, I’m sure.

Making them is a multi-step procedure, but nothing is too hard. You can also make a lot of it ahead and have them as leftover throughout the week. I’m very particular about the crispness of my coleslaw but Kirk loves them as lunches.

TO DRINK: When our friends at Spanish Table get this wine in for the season, Kirk and I do a happy dance. It’s a sparkling Spanish Rose that is just killer on warm days. A bottle goes by in the blink of an eye, so beware.

TO WATCH: I thought I enjoyed dumb movies. I laughed hysterically through a recent viewing of Hot Tub Time Machine, just one among many truly Oscar-quality flicks I like to waste a couple hours on. Apparently, though, I do have a limit of dumbness. I had never The Naked Gun . Now I know why. It wasn’t that it was so, incredibly dumb (which it was) it was just that the jokes simply weren’t funny. Yeah, it was made a couple decades ago, but I bet, even if I had watched it then, I would’ve found it equally as snooze inducing. If you’re looking for enjoyably dumb, don’t stop here.

TO FINISH: Homemade Mandarin Creamsicle Ice Cream. It’s our always popular Homemade Ice Cream Recipe, but we substituted half the whole milk with freshly squeezed juice from a surplus of cuties. It was a little dry, so next time I think we’d just add the juice, instead of substituting out anything.

Leave a comment